Music Resources

Here are a few resources for musicians interested in digital media:

Digital Music Resources

Look who owns URLS:

There are many ways into the “Whois” database.

URLs:

See some of the Hosting options below – some may also get you your domain name as part of the deal.

Websites – Design:

Website – Hosting:

  • GoDaddy.com – http://www.godaddy.com — You can get a Website tonight feature, but it won’t have many options for you.
  • Open Source: Wordpress — http://wordpress.com/ — blog-driven websites, but don’t think about this as your traditional blog. Lots of great templates. You can get a URL and “domain map” it to your blog for $10/year ($15/year if you also want to register the domain through them, which isn’t bad vs. the $10 alone for the URL). Add-ons cost money.
  • For WordPress.org templates, they say you need PHP 4.3 or higher, MySQL 4.0 or higher, Apache or nginx. They suggest Blue Host @$7/month (including domain name) (http://www.bluehost.com); Dream Host @$2/month (http://www.dreamhost.com); Media Temple $20/month for industrial strength hosting (http://mediatemple.net); and Laughing Squid @$6/month (http://laughingsquid.net). These usually include multiple email accounts as well, so you can have a professional email presence for your music.

Digital Distribution/Resources:

  • CD Baby.com — $35/album plus $20 if you need a barcode; $10/single; digital or physical sales; they keep $4/CD or 9% from digital
  • Tunecore – founded in 2005 – http://www.tunecore.com/ — $47/album; $10/indiv. Track; 19 stores; they don’t keep any $ from the sale
  • ReverbNation – fee plus charge to take it DOWN
  • Zimbalam – new in 2010 — http://www.zimbalam.com/ — $30 fee

EPK (Electronic Press Kit):

History/Lyrics

Public domain searches – generally music and lyrics (not recordings) before 1/1/1923 or ones that the music hadn’t had copyright renewed.

Music Rights/Licensing/Performing Rights Organizations (PROs)

  • Harry Fox — http://www.harryfox.com/index.jsp — for licensing tracks for producing CDs or selling online, the music licensing organizations have arranged with Harry Fox to take care of the smaller pressings/use.  For 25 to 2,500 uses, you should go through Harry Fox, who will charge you a $13-15 song fee plus the anticipated statutory royalty (now 9.1 cents) per track anticipated to be recorded. For streaming or limited use digital music , you can contact them directly to make arrangements.
  • Songfile search (should include all US PROs): http://www.harryfox.com/songfile/public/publicsearch.jsp
  • BMI Search — http://www.bmi.com/search
  • ASCAP Title Search — http://www.ascap.com/ace/
  • SESAC Repertory — http://www.sesac.com/Repertory/Terms.aspx

Public Domain? Check at links in prior section.

Community Building Resources:

Audience Measurement

Email Management

  • Constant Contact – www.constantcontact.com – Reasonable and nice interface
  • Mail Chimp – www.mailchimp.com – A little less expensive and much newer; nice interface
  • Patron Mail – www.patronmail.com – this is geared more toward non-profits with many tools that are special for that type of organization

Software for Concert Management

Local Events Calendars

Online Video – Embed/Send

Selling Stuff

Merchandise

Digital Connections

  • Taxi – http://www.taxi.com — $300/year plus $5/song to get bid requests, music reviewed, and selected music going to TV and movie music supervisors
  • Hello Music — http://www.hellomusic.com/ — connects artists up with digital deals for resources